The 2018 Merton Society Garden Party - Photo: © Bertie Beor-Roberts (2014)

Alumni: Societies

The Merton Society

All Mertonians automatically become life members of The Merton Society on matriculation. The Society runs a programme of events in conjunction with the Development Office, giving Old Members the opportunity to keep in touch with the College and with each other. Activities range from drinks parties and dinners to lectures and sports (spectating and participating).


The Council, which meets twice a year, oversees the role, direction and activities of The Society. All members are proposed and elected. If you are interested in the possibility of joining the Council, please contact the Development Office. 

Merton Society Officers

President: Sir Howard Stringer (1961)

RB Allan (1959), Professor Dame Jessica Rawson (Honorary Fellow), J Roberts, AM Vickers (1958)

Chairman: MPH Davison (1978)
Secretary: GG Backler (1973)
Past Presidents: The Rt. Hon. Sir Brian Leveson (1967)
  Sir Frank Bowden Bt † (1928)
  Sir Maurice Hodgson † (1938)
  DW Swarbrick † (1945)
  Sir Michael Quinlan GCB † (1948)
  WP Cooke CBE (1952)
  Lord Wright of Richmond GCMG (1951)
  Sir Robert Scott (1963)
  Sir Michael Jenkins (1953)
  Sir Jeremy Isaacs (1951)

Committee: NW Allard (1974), JDS Booth (1976), AJ Bott OBE (1953), DE Clark (1984), AJ Haggerty (2007), LA Hurrell (Davis) (2005), The Revd Canon Dr S Jones (Chaplain), GBS Lim (2006), RG McKelvey (1959), R Miller (2008), Dr S Pardos-Prado (Fellow), RB Peberdy (1975), M Pretzler (1996), DJO Schaffer (1986), AL Smith (1991), NE Sparkes (2011), SAL Tross Youle (1974), NJD Weller (1982), Dame Philippa Whipple (Edwards) (1984), and HJ Woods (Brindley) (1985).

Compassionate Fund

The Merton College Compassionate Fund exists to assist members of the College and their dependents who find themselves in financial difficulty.

Grants are normally made to assist Mertonians at times of unforeseen financial hardship (which may be the result of unemployment, illness, bereavement, or other changes in personal circumstances). For further information, please contact the Chaplain, Revd Canon Dr Simon Jones.

Merton in the City Association

The Merton in the City Association has been created for Mertonians who are active in a broad area of work related to life in the City of London - with the aim of providing a forum at which they will be able to meet old friends and build networks.

The Merton in the City Association last met on 2 February. The guest speaker was Roger Bootle (1970) and the evening was hosted by Mark Davison (1978) in the offices of Natixis.

The Merton Lawyers' Association

The Merton Lawyers’ Association is geared towards Mertonians who have either entered the field of law, past and present, or who have studied Law at Merton.  It normally meets once a year, usually in London, to hear a talk from a respected figure in the legal profession.  It both enables and enhances professional contacts within the group and to strengthen the ties between Mertonians and the College. Current students are given the opportunity to meet those already in practice, and all enjoy the chance to catch up with friends and tutors at a post-talk drinks reception.

The Merton Lawyers' Association last met in the offices of Herbert Smith Freehills on Wednesday 9 November 2016. There was a panel discussion entitled A discussion on public inquiries between:

  • Christina Lambert QC (counsel to the Dame Janet Smith BBC Review into Jimmy Savile and the Hillsborough inquests);
  • Andrew Green QC (author of the report into the FSA’s enforcement actions following the failure of HBOS); and
  • Sir Neil Garnham (counsel to the Victoria Climbié inquiry, counsel for interested parties in the Baha Mousa, Leveson, Al Sweady, Litvinenko and other public inquiries).
The Merton in Manhattan Association

The Merton in Manhattan Association meets annually and has been created for Mertonians working or living in New York and New Jersey with the aim of providing a forum at which they will be able to meet old friends and build networks. The 2016 meeting was kindly hosted at Barclays' prestigious 7th Avenue offices, with thanks to John Augustine (1984); the speaker was Simon Male (1986).

The Merton Golf Society

The Inter-Collegiate Golf Tournament celebrates its 19th anniversary this year. It has grown from just 3 colleges taking part to over 15 with participation of 140+ players.

Merton came 4th in 2015 and fielded a team in the 2016 tournament which took place on Friday 15 April at Frilford Heath Golf Club. Dinner and a prize-giving followed at St Peter's College.

The 2016 spring meeting took place on Thursday 31 March at the Newbury and Crookham Golf Club. The 2016 autumn meeting was held on Friday 23 September at Frilford Heath Golf Club, followed by dinner in College.

The Merton College Charitable Corporation

The Merton College Charitable Corporation, known as MC3, was organized by Warden John M. Roberts in 1987. It was incorporated in the United States in 1991. Membership is open to all Mertonians living in the Americas on either a permanent or interim basis. MC3 supports the College by funding a series of permanent programs at Merton and undertaking one or more special projects each year.

MC3 holds at least one reunion event each year for Mertonians in the Americas. It is held either in New York, as part of the University of Oxford North American Bi-Annual Reunion, or in alternate years, elsewhere in the United States or Canada.  In recent years MC3 reunions have been held in Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Washington, DC (twice), Toronto (2009), and Brooklyn (2015). The 2017 MC3 weekend was held in New York, and in 2018 a reunion took place in San Francisco to coincide with the University of Oxford's North American Alumni Weekend.

For more information about MC3, browse these sites:

For further information, please contact:

Mr R G McKelvey
Merton College Charitable Corporation
2410 State Highway 34
Manasquan NJ 08736

Phone: 732-449-5323 or 800-449-5322
Email: Mr R G McKelvey

MC3 Executive Committee and Trustees
MC3 Officers and
Executive Committee


Vice President



Assistant Treasurer



Nicholas W Allard

Kathleen Sheehan

Robert G McKelvey

Marina McCloskey

David Harvey


Nicholas W. Allard (1974)
Neil R. Brown (2002)
Thomas A. Connolly (1975)
D. Francis K. Finlay (1962)
Reginald D. Hall (1954)
David I. W. Hamer (1974)
David R. Harvey (1957)
Marina McCloskey (2003)
Robert G. McKelvey (1959)
John M. Mitnick (1985)
Scott M. Moore (2009)
Amna Naseer (1997)
Peter Palmer (1968)
Daniel Seymour (1983)
CSK Scudder (1971)
K Sheehan (2002)
G Tiao (2010)

Life Trustees

George A. Drake
John G. Garrard
Prosser Gifford
Frank T. Keefe
Edmund G. Ranallo
A. Truman Schwartz
Edward I. Selig
R. John Simms
C. Craig Smith
Gary G. Stevens
Howard Stringer
E. Fred Yalouris

In addition to the Executive Committee and Trustees, MC3 is run by a number of smaller, specialist committees. A full listing of these committees and their membership can be downloaded here