Professor David Paterson elected President of The Physiological Society

Tutor in Pre-Clinical Medicine Professor David Paterson has been elected as the next President of The Physiological Society. David, who is Professor of Cardiovascular Physiology and Head of the Department of Physiology, Anatomy & Genetics at the University of Oxford, will take office at the Society's Annual General Meeting on 16 September.

David gained a DPhil from Oxford and a DSc from the University of Western Australia. He is a group leader in the British Heart Foundation Centre of Research Excellence at Oxford, and is Honorary Director of the Burdon Sanderson Cardiac Science Centre in his Department.

As a cardiac neurobiologist, his research focuses on the neural control of the cardiovascular system in normal and diseased states. In 2014 he was made an Honorary Fellow of The Royal Society of New Zealand, and in 2018 was awarded the Carl Ludwig Distinguished Lectureship from the American Physiological Society. He was Editor-in-Chief of The Journal of Physiology from 2011 to 2016, and is a Fellow of The Physiological Society, Royal Society of Medicine, and Royal Society of Biology.  His new textbook, the sixth edition of Levick's Introduction to Cardiovascular Physiology, coauthored with Neil Herring, was published in April.