Concert: Mozart's 'Requiem'

Date: Thursday 28 October 2021
Time: 19:30
Sheldonian Theatre

Laura Ruiz Ferreres clarinet
Mary Bevan soprano
Hanna Hipp mezzo-soprano
Joshua Ellicott tenor
Ashley Riches bass
The Choir of Merton College, Oxford
Benjamin Nicholas Director of Music
Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra
Marios Papadopoulos MBE conductor

Mozart’s unfinished Requiem turned out to be his own. This unfailingly gripping work moves from the dark clouds of fate to the piercing light of optimism – a last bid for positivity in the tragic life of a genius cut off in his prime. After his equally sublime late Clarinet Concerto – played by outstanding Spanish clarinettist Laura Ruiz Ferreres – Marios Papadopoulos and the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra were joined by The Choir of Merton College, Oxford, one of the finest mixed-voice college choirs in the land, for Mozart’s last musical will and testament.


Mozart Clarinet Concerto in A major, K. 622
Mozart Requiem in D minor, K. 626