Shopping cart

Your shopping basket is empty. View the shop here
Professor Luke Ong

Luke Ong named as joint winner of Alonzo Church Award

May 2017

Professor of Computer Science Luke Ong has been named as a joint winner of the 2017 Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding Contributions to Logic and Computation.

The award was given jointly to Professors Ong, Samson Abramsky, Radha Jagadeesan, Pasquale Malacaria, and Martin Hyland, and Dr Hanno Nickau "for providing a fully-abstract semantics for higher-order computation through the introduction of game models, thereby fundamentally revolutionising the field of programming language semantics, and for the applied impact of these models."

The Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding Contributions to Logic and Computation was jointly established by the Association for Computing Machinery's Special Interest Group for Logic and Computation, the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science, the European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL), and the Kurt Gödel Society.

The award recognises outstanding contributions represented by a paper, or small group of papers, within the past 25 years; this timespan allows the contribution to have established evidence of lasting impact and depth.

The 2017 award will be presented at the 26th Computer Science Logic Conference, EACSL's annual meeting, which takes place from 20 to 24 August at Stockholm University, Sweden.